The Great Irish Famine brilliantly recreated through the story of three young survivors. Ireland in the 1840s is devastated by famine. When tragedy strikes their family Eily, Michael and Peggy are left to fend for themselves.

Starving and in danger of ending up in the dreaded workhouse, they escape. Their one hope is to find the great-aunts they have heard about in their mother's stories. With tremendous courage they set out on a journey that will test every reserve of strength, love and loyalty they possess. A new Classic Edition hardback of Under the Hawthorn Tree is now available. The other books in the Children of the Famine trilogy are Wildflower Girl and Fields of Home.

Under the Hawthorn Tree is also available in Irish, titled Faoin Sceach Gheal. A study guide to using the book in the classroom is available for free download .

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9780862782061
Author Marita Conlon-McKenna
Publisher The O'Brien Press
Publication date 11 Sep 2014
Format Paperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Under The Hawthorn Tree

Under The Hawthorn Tree

Marita Conlon-McKenna

This is the first book in The Famine Trilogy by Marita Conlon- McKenna.

Estimated delivery in 1-5 working days
Read more about our shipping and delivery