The tradition of awarding the Freedom of the City still lives on in cities around the world. Many of the rights or privileges associated with the award are symbolic but conferring the privilege remains the highest honour a city can bestow. In Cork, awarding the Freedom of the City, whereby persons distinguished for public service become Honorary Burgesses of the City, dates from the fourteenth century.

There are four distinct periods covering the award in Cork city:

1. Fourteenth century to 1876: Honorary Burgesses - largely based on status or purchase of the honour.

2. 1877 to 1921: Nationalist Heroes - a legislative framework applied and the practice was to honour nationalists.

3. 1922 to 1989: Clergy and Statesmen - chief recipients were Roman Catholic clergy.

4. 1990 to present: High Achievers - basis of award becomes outstanding achievements. Notable recipients included Charles Stewart Parnell, William Gladstone, JFK, Eamon de Valera, Mary Robinson and Seán Óg Ó hAilpín.

This book reveals and brings to life the rich history associated with the awarding of the Freedom of the City in Cork by describing the history of the honour and profiling notable recipients.

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9781848891890
Author Aodh Quinlivan
Publisher Gill Books
Imprint Collins Press
Publication date 5 Sep 2013
Format Hardback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Freedom of Cork: A Chronicle of Honour (Hardback)

The Freedom of Cork: A Chronicle of Honour (Hardback)

A colourful and rich history of the Freedom of Cork award. Fascinating stories and informative profiles of some the major recipients.

Estimated delivery in 1-5 working days
Read more about our shipping and delivery