Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

No Laughing Matter: The Life & Times of Flann O’Brien

No Laughing Matter: The Life & Times of Flann O’Brien

Anthony Cronin

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

First published in 1989 No Laughing Matter: The Life and Times of Flann O’Brien was the first full-length biography of Flann O’Brien. Rich in background, anecdote and social history, it is an extraordinary portrait of a writer and his times, perceptive, sympathetic and authoritative.

Flann O’Brien (aka Brian O’Nolan) was born in Tyrone in 1911 and worked as a civil servant for many years. He also developed an alter ego, Myles na Gopaleen, whose satirical column in The Irish Times soon acquired legendary status. At Swim-Two-Birds, his first novel, appeared in 1939 and was praised by James Joyce, Graham Greene, Dylan Thomas and others. His second novel, The Third Policeman, failed to find a publisher at the time but has since been acknowledged as one of the most important novels to come out of Ireland in the twentieth century.

With a foreword by acclaimed author Kevin Barry and striking redesign, No Laughing Matter is an undisputed classic of Irish literary biography.

Anthony Cronin was a poet, novelist and critic. Among his prose works are The Last Modernist (1996), Samuel Beckett, Dead as Doornails and The Life of Riley.

Additional Information

Author Anthony Cronin
Publisher New Island
Publication date 26 Feb 2019
Format Paperback
ISBN/EAN 9781848407145

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.