An astonishingly accomplished and hugely original Australian debut crime novel

In a country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on the congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town.

The bodies of two backpackers are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight. Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9781472255143
Author Chris Hammer
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Publication date 11 Jul 2019
Format Paperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Scrublands

Scrublands

A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper.

In stock