Richard Murphy emerged in the 1950s with John Montague and Thomas Kinsella as one of the three major poets in the new Irish poetic renaissance.

Poems 1952-2012 expands the scope of his much acclaimed Collected Poems of 2000 to include a selection of new poems along with an appendix featuring illuminating commentary on the historical and personal background of some of his most notable work, including 'The Cleggan Disaster', 'The God Who Eats Corn', 'The Battle of Aughrim', and the poems of High Island. 'One of the truly great things about Richard Murphy's Collected Poems is just how alive the book is to the west of Ireland: its history and people, the landscape, customs and folkways of making a living (as Murphy did) from the sea.

But it is not as pastoral that these poems really live; the western islands and the terrain become austere emblematic presences, dramatising an intense struggle for personal and cultural identity. Traversing this geography of the mind, Murphy auspiciously reinvented in The Battle of Aughrim (1968) an historical frieze of war and conflict in the late 17th century spliced through with images drawn, almost cinematically, from 20th-century Ireland' - Gerald Dawe, The Irish Times

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9781843514060
Author Richard Murphy
Publisher Lilliput Press
Publication date 1 Apr 2013
Format Paperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Richard Murphy - Poems 1952 - 2012

Richard Murphy - Poems 1952 - 2012

Richard Murphy, now in his eighties, is one of Ireland’s most distinguished poets, known particularly for poems drawing on the people and history of the west of Ireland with classical rigour and ‘unvarnished’ clarity.

Estimated delivery in 1-5 working days
Read more about our shipping and delivery