With three years of sobriety, she is determined to stay clean and regain custody of her two children.

My name is Ranita, and I'm an addict, she has said again and again at recovery meetings. But who else is she? Who might she choose to become? As she claims the story housed within her pomegranate-like heart, she is determined to confront the weight of the past and discover what might lie beyond mere survival. Ranita is regaining her freedom, but she's leaving behind her lover Maxine, who has inspired her to imagine herself and the world differently.

Now she must steer clear of the temptations that have pulled her down, while atoning for her missteps and facing old wounds. With a fierce, smart, and sometimes funny voice, Ranita reveals how rocky and winding the path to wellness is for a Black woman, even as she draws on family, memory, faith, and love in order to choose life. Perfect for fans of Jesmyn Ward and Yaa Gyasi, Pomegranate is a complex portrayal of queer Black womanhood and marginalization in America: a story of loss, healing, redemption, and strength.

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9781982171896
Author Helen Elaine Lee
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Publication date 25 May 2023
Format Paperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Pomegranate : A Novel

Pomegranate : A Novel

Helen Elaine Lee
€22.99

Ranita Atwater is "getting short." She is almost done with her four-year sentence for opiate possession at Oak Hills Correctional Center. 

In stock