Her eyes looked huge and scared. 'So take a shake to yourself!'' Edinburgh, 1948. Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor's surgery.

Upstart, ungrateful, out of your depth - the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she's determined to take her chance and play her part. She's barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she's propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be.

Disapproval is the least of her worries now. IN PLACE OF FEAR is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson. 

More Information
ISBN/EAN 9781529337969
Author Catriona McPherson
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
Publication date 14 Apr 2022
Format Hardback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:In Place of Fear : A gripping medical murder mystery set in Edinburgh

In Place of Fear : A gripping medical murder mystery set in Edinburgh

Catriona McPherson
€20.99

Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, 'You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o'clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.' 

In stock