Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

Ulster Political Lives, 1886–1921

Ulster Political Lives, 1886–1921

James QuinnPatrick Maume

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

Ulster Political Lives, 1886–1921 examines the lives of 50 of Ulster's most significant political figures in the turbulent period from the first Home Rule Bill of 1886 to the foundation of the state of Northern Ireland in 1921. It includes articles on leading figures such as Edward Carson, James Craig and Joseph Devlin, but also on lesser-known but interesting figures such as Margaret Byers, Winifred Carney and George Clark, whose lives are also significant and instructive. It details the lives of unionists and nationalists, loyalists and republicans, but also those who did not fit into such neat categories—socialists, trade unionists and feminists, who often avoided identification with the major political groupings but nonetheless made noteworthy contributions to the creation of Northern Ireland and the shape it took after 1921.

About the Dictionary of Irish Biography: The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a research project of the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It comprises over 10,000 lives, which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, music and the arts, the sciences, medicine, entertainment and sport.

The fifty biographies included in this volume are: Frank Aiken, John Miller Andrews, James Brown Armour, Sir (Richard) Dawson Bates, Francis Joseph Bigger, Ernest Blythe, Basil Stanlake Brooke, Margaret Byers, Ethna Carbery, Winifred Carney, Edward Henry Carson, Sir George Smith Clark, James Craig, Fred Crawford, Robert Lindsay Crawford, Joseph Devlin, John Ferguson, Mary Galway, James Hamilton, Cahir Healy, Denis Stanislaus Henry, Bulmer Hobson, Sir Samuel Robert Keightley, Richard Lyttle, Sean MacEntee, Thomas MacKnight, Eoin MacNeill, Patrick McCartan, Timothy McCarthy, Denis McCullough, Alice Milligan, Thomas Moles, Hugh de Fellenberg Montgomery, Peadar O'Donnell, Eoin O'Duffy, Kevin Roantree O'Shiel, Herbert Moore Pim, William James Pirrie, Sir John Ross, George 'AE' Russell, Sir Thomas Wallace Russell, Edward James Saunderson, Thomas Sinclair, Thomas Henry Sloan, Charles Stewart Vane-Tempest Stewart, Isabella Tod, William Copeland Trimble, William Walker, Robert Hugh Wallace, Jack White

Additional Information

Author James QuinnPatrick Maume
Publisher Royal Irish Academy
Publication date 1 Oct 2016
Format Hardback
ISBN/EAN 9781908996855

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest  Google +

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.