Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

The Freedom of Cork: A Chronicle of Honour

The Freedom of Cork: A Chronicle of Honour

Aodh Quinlivan

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

A colourful and rich history of the Freedom of Cork award. Fascinating stories and informative profiles of some the major recipients.

The tradition of awarding the Freedom of the City still lives on in cities around the world. Many of the rights or privileges associated with the award are symbolic but conferring the privilege remains the highest honour a city can bestow. In Cork, awarding the Freedom of the City, whereby persons distinguished for public service become Honorary Burgesses of the City, dates from the fourteenth century.

There are four distinct periods covering the award in Cork city:

1. Fourteenth century to 1876: Honorary Burgesses - largely based on status or purchase of the honour.

2. 1877 to 1921: Nationalist Heroes - a legislative framework applied and the practice was to honour nationalists.

3. 1922 to 1989: Clergy and Statesmen - chief recipients were Roman Catholic clergy.

4. 1990 to present: High Achievers - basis of award becomes outstanding achievements. Notable recipients included Charles Stewart Parnell, William Gladstone, JFK, Eamon de Valera, Mary Robinson and Seán Óg Ó hAilpín.

This book reveals and brings to life the rich history associated with the awarding of the Freedom of the City in Cork by describing the history of the honour and profiling notable recipients.

Additional Information

Author Aodh Quinlivan
Publisher The Collins Press
Publication date 5 Sep 2013
Format Hardback
ISBN/EAN 9781848891890

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest  Linkedin

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.