Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

New and Selected Poems of Patrick Galvin

New and Selected Poems of Patrick Galvin

Greg Delanty and Robert Welch

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

Patrick Galvin, one of Ireland most distinctive and original poets, was born in Cork in 1927. Author of seven collections of poetry his work has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies and has been broadcast by the BBC and RTE.

Galvin is master of the understatement combining black humour with intense compassion to create a poetry that is directly political and humane, expressed with conviction in an effortless style of great emotional depth. His first collection of poetry Heart of Grace was published in 1957 followed by the mould-breaking Christ in London. Other collections include The Wood-Burners, Man on the Porch and Folk Tales For the General, a Poetry Ireland Book Choice. His most recent works The Mad Women of Cork and The Death of Art O'Leary were published in 1994.

Robin Skelton in a review for The Guardian states that Galvin is 'one of the few really original poets of our generation'. Galvin is also a well known playwright and was Resident Dramatist at the Lyric Theatre, Belfast from 1973 to 1979. His awards include a Leverhulme Fellowship in Drama and the prestigious Irish American Cultural Award for Poetry in 1995.

This single volume supports the sentiments of many critics who believe his work is a significant contribution to poetry in Ireland.

Additional Information

Author Greg Delanty and Robert Welch
Publisher Cork University Press
Publication date 1 Aug 1996
Format Paperback
ISBN/EAN 9781859180914

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.