books.ie

Skip to Main Content »

Currency
£ $
 
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

Miller's Valley

Miller's Valley

Anna Quindlen

Availability: In stock

-
+
Gift wrap available
$17.67

In the vein of Anne Tyler's A Spool of Blue Thread and Elizabeth Strout's My Name is Lucy Barton, Miller's Valley is an emotionally powerful story about a family you will never forget. In a small town on the verge of big change, a young woman unearths deep secrets about her family and unexpected truths about herself.

For generations the Millers have lived in Miller Valley, a small American town on the verge of enormous change. Mimi Miller describes her life, from the 1960s to the present, with intimacy and honesty, as though revealing it to the best friend she never had. As Mimi eavesdrops on her parents and quietly observes the people around her, she discovers more and more about the toxicity of family secrets, the dangers of gossip, the flaws of marriage, the inequalities of friendship, the risks of passion, loyalty and love. Home, as Mimi begins to realise, can be a place where it's just as easy to feel lost as it is to feel contented.

A masterly study of family, memory and loss, Miller's Valley reminds us that the place where you grew up can disappear, and the people in it too, but all will live on in your heart forever. 'Mesmerizing ...Quindlen makes her characters so richly alive, so believable, that it's impossible not to feel every doubt and dream they harbor . ..the novel is overwhelmingly moving ...' New York Times

Additional Information

Author Anna Quindlen
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Publication date 6 Oct 2016
Format Paperback
ISBN/EAN 9781471158773

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us

Email: contactus@books.ie

Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest  Google +

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.
X