Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

Great Irish Writing: The Best from The Bell (Classic Irish Fiction)

Great Irish Writing: The Best from The Bell (Classic Irish Fiction)

McMahon, Sean

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

The Bell literary journal was founded by Sean O'Faolain and Peadar O'Donnell in 1940, and edited by O'Faolain until 1946, then by O'Donnell to 1954.

Its index of writers reads like a dictionary of famous authors, some of whom were writers of stature at the time, while others were beginners, many of whom went on to become famous.

This book presents the flavour of The Bell in its heyday. Writers featured are: Patrick Kavanagh, Eric Cross, Flann O'Brien, Frank O'Connor, Bryan McMahon, Brendan Behan, Louis McNeice, Monk Gibbon, Roger McHugh, Denis Johnston, Mary Lavin, Micheál Mac Laimmóir, Sean O'Faolain, and others.

There a bibliographical note on each of the thirty-nine writers included in this selection.

Additional Information

Author McMahon, Sean
Publisher The O'Brien Press
Publication date 1 Dec 1985
Format Paperback
ISBN/EAN 9780862780463

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest  Google +

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.