Skip to Main Content »

£ $
Shopping Cart (0 item)
My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You're currently on:

After the Rising: Soldiers, Lawyers and Trials of the Irish Revolution

After the Rising: Soldiers, Lawyers and Trials of the Irish Revolution

Seán Enright

Availability: In stock

Gift wrap available

Regular Price: $23.42

Special Price $18.73

The sequel to Enright’s bestselling 2013 Easter Rising 1916: The Trials. It is a fascinating study of the legal trials arising from the military conflict of the extraordinary 1916-1921 era including the high-profile trials of Roger Casement, Countess Markiewicz, Eoin MacNeill, and the Bloody Sunday participants.

In this sequel to his bestselling Easter Rising 1916: The Trials, Seán Enright puts the great legal cases of the period into context with exacting clarity, including the Mac Curtain Inquest, the trials of MacSwiney, Markievicz, Maher and Foley, the Bloody Sunday courts martial and the trials under martial law.

Following the executions of the 1916 leaders, a new government policy of conciliation was attempted but quickly faltered. Rebel prisoners were released, the Great War reached its climax, and Ireland was gripped by the conscription crisis and subsequent resentment over exclusion from the Versailles Peace Conference. It was in this atmosphere that revolution took hold. Raids and reprisals became widespread, dozens of police barracks were raided and over 90 courthouses were burned down.

Under such pressures, Westminster abandoned jury trial in favour of trial by court martial, and martial law was introduced in the south and west. After the Rising provides a vibrant account of Ireland’s slow descent into turmoil as the law unravelled and the country engaged in a new and shocking conflict.

Table of Contents

Part 1 Chapter 1 – After the Rebellion

  • Chapter 2 – The Royal Commission into the Causes of the Rebellion
  • Chapter 3 – Conciliation and Repression: 1916 and 1917
  • Chapter 4 – The End of the Great War
  • Chapter 5 – Failure at Versailles: 1919
  • Chapter 6 – The Collapse of the Justice System, January to July 1920
  • Chapter 7 – The Emergence of Trial by Court Martial, August to November 1920
  • Chapter 8 – Martial Law: December 1920
  • Chapter 9 – A Small War: 1921
  • Chapter 10 – Due Process Re-established

Part 2 The Trials

  • 1916: MacNeill, Bowen Colthurst, Casement
  • 1918: Joseph Dowling and the German Plot
  • 1919: The Silvermines Trial
  • 1920: John Madden, Michel ORourke, Constance Markievicz, Fr Delahunty, Fr Ahern
  • 1921: Caherguillamore, The Bloody Sunday Trials, Drumcondra, Captain King, Thomas Traynor, Bryan Kelley, Knocklong, Carmody and Lenehan, O’Shea

Additional Information

Author Seán Enright
Publisher Merrion
Publication date 29 Apr 2016
Format Paperback
ISBN/EAN 9781785370519

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Contact Us


Phone: +353 (45) 880806

Facebook  Twitter  Pintrest  Google +

Also check out our BLOG

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To opt-out of cookie use find out more here.